ADVISORY: Experts Discuss Fiscal, Constitutional and Human Rights Concerns of Indefinite Detention Legislation

Washington, D.C.On Wednesday, June 1st, the National Immigration Forum will host a press conference on controversial immigration enforcement the House Judiciary Committee is expected to consider Thursday. The immigrant detention bill, H.R.1932, titled “Keep Our Communities Safe Act of 2011”, was introduced by Representative Lamar Smith (R-TX). The legislation would give the Department of Homeland Security authority to detain immigrants indefinitely if they have an order of removal,  but cannot be deported because, for example, the immigrant’s country of origin has poor diplomatic relations with the U.S., such as Cuba, or if the immigrant is subject to a removal order that has been stayed by a judge while their immigration case is on appeal. Immigration experts will shed light on the due process, human rights, and fiscal concerns of this legislation involving the prolonged detention of immigrants including asylum-seekers. This on-the-record briefing, hosted by the National Immigration Forum, will be followed by Q&A.   WHAT: Telephonic Press Conference on indefinite detention legislation, H.R.1932 WHO: Denise Gilman, Esq., Co-Director of Immigration Clinic, University of Texas Joanne Lin, Legislative Counsel, American Civil Liberties Union Annie Sovick Advocacy Counsel, Refugee Protection Program, Human Rights First Brittney Nystrom, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs, National Immigration Forum (moderator) Formerly detained asylum seeker (invited) WHEN: Wednesday, June 1st at 11 a.m. Eastern, 10 a.m. Central, 8 a.m. Pacific HOW: Dial: 1-800-862-9098 or 785-424-1051 Conference ID: 7DETENTION Conference title: Immigration/ Detention Call

Press

Published on June 1, 2011

Share

Take action

Urge Congress to pass the Afghan Adjustment Act