The Marvin E. Frankel Award for Pro Bono Service


The Marvin E. Frankel Award was established in 2002 to honor the memory of Human Rights First’s longtime chairman and to recognize law firms that exemplify Judge Frankel’s extraordinary dedication to human rights and commitment to pro bono service. Our honorees have done outstanding work on behalf of refugees, helping to set the bar for others.


From the 2022 Marvin E. Frankel Award honorees:


Greenberg Traurig LLP 


“We are incredibly honored to receive the Marvin E. Frankel award, which we are only able to earn due to the strong strategic partnership Greenberg Traurig and Human Rights First have shared on a number of pro bono matters over the years. This award is a reflection of the commitment Greenberg Traurig has always had to uplift our communities through pro bono work and philanthropy, particularly under the leadership of our Global Pro Bono Program Chair Caroline Heller. It has been humbling to see our attorneys in California, across the United States and around the world come together to help vulnerable communities that have been forced from their homes with little or no resources.”


— Vincent Chieffo and Adam Siegler

Co-Pro Bono Coordinators for Greenberg Traurig’s Los Angeles office



Latham & Watkins LLP  


“We are deeply honored by this award from Human Rights First. For more than two decades, we have partnered with Human Rights First on matters designed to promote and safeguard the rights of asylees and refugees in the United States. We are grateful to be recognized for our pro bono commitment, and very proud to collaborate with Human Rights First on this fundamental work.”


— Marc Jaffe

Office Managing Partner of Latham & Watkins’ New York office



Morrison Foerster 


“The dedication and advocacy of the attorneys and staff at Human Rights First are second to none. It has been an honor to work with them very closely over the past year and we are grateful for this recognition of our partnership.”


— Dorothy Fernandez

Pro Bono Counsel, Morrison Foerster

2022 Recipients

Greenberg Traurig LLP

Latham & Watkins LLP

Morrison Foerster