Pro Bono Star Award


Human Rights First’s pro bono model trains and mentors pro bono attorneys to provide asylum seekers high-quality legal representation, leading more advocates to serve more clients than we could through direct representation alone.

Winners of our Pro Bono Star Award are legal professionals in our Pro Bono program who have shown extraordinary commitment to representing and protecting asylum seekers.

2022 Recipients:

Timothy “Tim” Harris — Morrison & Foerster

Cody Kermanian — Latham & Watkins LLC

Ryan Munitz — Sheppard Mullin

Sarah Tishler — Williams Simmons & Landis PLLC

2023 Recipients

Jeanette Garza

Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

Peter McGinley

Dechert LLP

Brian Tully McLaughlin

Crowell & Moring LLP

Sloan Ungerman, Carolina Bernal, Lila Rosenfeld, Brooke Padgett, Michèle Penzer

Latham & Watkins LLP